Notes from the Now

Looking Back: March 1999 — Nietzche

In literature on February 27, 2009 at 12:01 am

Looking back, I can marvel on just how twisted my sense of humor was back then.

I picked Nietzche’s “Ecce Homo: How One Becomes What One Is” [wikipedia] as the book I was reading during the first full month of the Peace Corps Training program.

This is widely viewed as Nietzche’s last book before his descent into madness, his autobiographical “setting the record straight” swan song.  Every autobiography is an effort to reshape one’s legacy, but Nietzche took things to their full logical extent going as far as naming chapters outrageously  like “Why I Am So Wise”, “Why I Am So Clever”, “Why I Write Such Good Books”, and “Why I Am a Destiny”.

I wasn’t planning for a descent into madness, but it made sense to cover all my bases.

  1. Nietzche aside, I like the amazon astore idea. I may set up one for my blog.

    We are all just a step away from Col. Kurtz craziness ….

  2. Yeah, the amazon “store” is working out. Nice way to make a good set of “best of” lists at least…

Leave a Reply

